Board of Education

Voters elect four candidates to the Board of Education

Voters elected four members to the board of Education during the 2021-22 Annual Budget Vote on May 18.

As the top three vote-getters, Melissa Peterson (205 votes), Francis Spor (202 votes) and Teresa Wood-Irvin (194 votes) will each serve a three-year term beginning July 1. Shayne Mitchell (193 votes) will serve until June 30, 2023, to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of board member Camille Siano Enders.

DCS livestreaming meetings in response to COVID-19

The Duanesburg Central School District is holding its regular board meetings remotely by videoconference only because of the ongoing COVID-19 public health situation. Live streamed videos of the meetings are available for the public. 

Please see the Duanesburg CSD Public Comment Protocols

Board meetings are livestreamed on Google Meet. Links to access the board meetings are available on the district calendar as well as the meeting agenda on BoardDocs

Given the extraordinary circumstances surrounding COVID-19, DCS will plan to use videoconference/livestream only for Board of Education meetings for the time being. This approach is consistent with the governor’s executive order from March 2020. 

Board meetings are generally held at 6:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of the month. The full board meeting schedule is available here.

Meeting videos are uploaded to YouTube and are also shared with Schopeg public access television. 

Board meeting agendas, materials and minutes

Meeting agendas, materials and minutes are available on BoardDocs.

About the Board

The Board of Education is composed of seven members who serve three-year terms. Members are elected by residents in the community to establish policy and direct the administration of the district’s schools. As your representatives, the board exercises the community’s rights to citizen control over public education.

Every Board of Education in the State of New York has legal and financial control over local school matters, subject only to limitations imposed by the United States Constitution, Federal Law, State Law, regulations of the Commissioner of Education, and, of course, the will of local residents as expressed in local elections. 

Running for the Board of Education

Board nomination petitions become available in March at the district office. To obtain a petition, please call 518-895-2279. In order to obtain a petition, candidates must visit the central office building to have their eligibility confirmed by the district clerk. Each nominating petition must contain a minimum of 25 valid signatures and must be returned to the district office 30 days prior to the school district’s Annual Meeting (Budget Vote). Petitions are due by 5 p.m. at the Central Office on Monday, April 19. 

To run for a seat on the Board of Education, candidates must be:

  • A resident of the Duanesburg Central School District for a period of one year prior to the annual school budget vote and Board election.
  • A U.S. citizen, 18 and older and can read and write.

New York State Education Law does not limit the number of terms of office a member may serve. Board members receive no salaries or other compensation.

Questions may be directed to District Clerk Celeste Junge at