HS recognizes top students

Applause filled the new high school auditorium May 24 as the DCS community celebrated the accomplishments of juniors and seniors at the annual awards ceremony. District leaders, faculty and staff, family and friends and community members gathered to honor the following outstanding students.

Congratulations to Duanesburg’s top 10 seniors:

Valedictorian – Alison Fiorini
Salutatorian – Boone Lynch
Thomas Cassale
Matthew Gamache
Allison Schmidt
Eleanor Felton
Zachary Ferguson
Alyn Heritage
Henry Grygas
Samantha Barnes

Senior Awards:

Albany City Knights of Pythias Achievement Award: Brianna Colucci
Alotta Scholarship Award in Memory of Andrea Alotta: Matthew Gamache, Sydney Leffingwell
American Legion Mohawk Post 1450 – American Studies Scholarship Award: Matthew Gamache
American Legion Riders Helderberg Post 977&1493: Christopher Barnard
American Red Cross Award: Olivia Dykstra
Barbara D. and Paul B. Munson II Memorial Award: Boone Lynch
Beta Eckler Rask Memorial: Mikenzie Stahl
BlueShield of Northeastern New York Blue Scholars Program: Marygrace Nichols
Boy Scout Troop 51 Citizenship Award: Tyler Lombardoni, Noah Schmid
Capital District School Board Association Volunteer Award: Molly Todd
Capital District YMCA Outstanding Student & Educator Award: Eleanor Felton; Outstanding Educator: Kristina Goebel
CASDA Scholar Recognition Program: Henry Grygas; Teacher Nominee: Tom Reiter
Charles G. Kuon Memorial Scholarship: Gabriella DePiero
Class of 1989 Award: Sydney Leffingwell
Class of 2011 Award: Brianna Colucci
Class of 2013 Award: Henry Grygas
Class of 2016 – Unsung Hero Award: Alyn Heritage
College of Saint Rose Founder’s Award: Logan Julia Smith
D.C.P.T.A. Award: Alison Fiorini
D.E.S.A. Award: Olivia Dykstra
D.T.A. – Joyce Shafer Putterman L.S. Memorial Prize: Molly Todd
D.T.A. Award: Gregory Cornelius, Eleanor Felton, Alison Fiorini
D.T.A. Award – Margaret Crowe Memorial Scholarship: Rya Apolito
DCS Board of Education Award: Marygrace Nichols
DCS Board of Education Community Service Recognition Award: Eleanor Felton, Matthew Gamache, Morgan Hoffmann, Boone Lynch, Tyler Lombardoni, Molly Todd
DCS Sports Booster Club Athlete Award: Eleanor Felton, Boone Lynch
DCS Sports Booster Club Eagle Athlete Award: Gregory Cornelius, Morgan Hoffmann
DCS Sports Booster Club Eagle Scholar Athlete Award: Thomas Cassale, Allison Schmidt
Delanson Community Government Award: Alison Fiorini
Delanson Fire Co. Award: Morgan Hoffmann
Delanson United Methodist Church Award: Henry Grygas
Dr. David Heisig Award – In Memory of Marlene Forbes: Olivia Dykstra
Dr. Donald & Ella Walker Award: Allison Schmidt
Duane Lions/ Frank Berical Memorial Scholarship: Alison Fiorini
Duanesburg A.Y.S.O. Award: Sydney Leffingwell
Duanesburg Business Association Award: Eleanor Felton
Duanesburg Democratic Committee Civics Awards: Alison Fiorini, Eleanor Felton, Alyn Heritage
Duanesburg Vol. Fire Co. Occupational Education Award: Morgan Hoffmann
Electric City Detachment #222 Marine Corps League Scholarship Program: Austin Kellerman
Elizabeth MacDougall Award: Samantha Barnes
Elmira College – Key Award & Simeon Benjamin Scholarship: Marygrace Nichols
Embry Riddle Aeronautical University Presidential Scholarship: Boone Lynch
Esperance Band Award – In Memory of Andrew Quick: Noah Schmid
Family and Consumer Science Award – In Memory of Sherrie Bartholomew: Victoria Baker
First New York Federal Credit Union Scholarship: Boone Lynch
Frontier Sno Riders Award: Eleanor Felton
George & Mary Heisig Memorial Scholarship: Alison Fiorini
John and Marion Livingston Memorial Award: Morgan Hoffmann, Ashley Richardson
John P. Elacqua-Richard P. Walsh Memorial Scholarship Fund: Matthew Gamache
John Philip Sousa Award: Mikenzie Stahl
Kelly Elizabeth Barnes Memorial Scholarship: Zachary Ferguson
Knights of Columbus – Our Lady of Fatima Award: Gregory Cornelius, Morgan Hoffmann, Mikenzie Stahl
Mule Hill Farm – Malcolm A. Wilber Memorial Award: Gregory Cornelius
NBT Bank Business Award: Gregory Cornelius
New York State Board of Regents for Academic Excellence: Thomas Cassale, Boone Lynch, Alison Fiorini
NYS Attorney General Triple “C” Award: Kelly Mullen, Noah Schmid
Office of the New York State Comptroller Achievement Award: Matthew Gamache, Allison Schmidt
Quaker Street Scholarship Prize: Alison Fiorini
Quaker Street Volunteer Fire Co. Award: Thomas Cassale, Brianna Colucci, Gregory Cornelius, Morgan Hoffmann
R.I.T. Grant: Gregory Cornelius
Robert B. & Charlotte D. Shafer Award: Olivia Dykstra
Robert John Davey Memorial Award: Alyn Heritage
Roger Carey Sanders Memorial Award: Marygrace Nichols
Roger Williams University – Hawks & Presidential Scholar Awards: Tyler Lombardoni
Rosa Villa Award: Eleanor Felton
Rotterdam Elks Vito Corbo-Jake Baurel Memorial Scholarship: Sydney Leffingwell
Russell Sage College Deans Honors Award: Morgan Hoffmann
Schoharie County Counselor’s Association: Sydney Leffingwell
Schoharie County School Boards Association: Alison Fiorini, Boone Lynch
SEFCU Smart Sense Scholarship: Matthew Gamache
SUNY Polytechnic Institute FIRST Scholarship & Presidential Scholarship: Matthew Gamache
SUNY Polytechnic Institute Progressive Achievement Award: Noah Schmid
Thomas Alan Reiter Jr. Award: Olivia Dykstra
Tylar Zielinski Memorial Award: Samantha Barnes
Wyanski Memorial Award: Sydney Leffingwell

Junior Awards:

Clarkson University High School Achievement Award: Rylie Lohret
Clarkson University High School Leadership Award: Elaine Atanasova
Elmira College Key Award: Hannah Lawrence, Emily Schaeffer
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Merit Scholarship: Jacob Harris
R.I.T. Computing Medal Award: Alexander Lawrence
R.I.T. Creativity & Innovation Award: Astrid Marz
Sage College – The Student Sage College Award: Spencer Proulx
Saint Michaels College Book Award for Academic Achievement with a Social Conscience: Anna White
St. Lawrence College Book Award: Annabelle Rieseler
Wells College 21st Century Leadership Award: Charlie Grygas, Sophia Loukides